The Catholic Calendar for Thursday, October 18, 2007
Saint Luke, evangelist

Scripture from today’s Liturgy of the Word:
2 Timothy 4:10-17b
Psalm 145:10-11, 12-13, 17-18
Luke 10:1-9

A reflection on today’s Sacred Scripture:

The kingdom of God is at hand for you. (Luke 10:9)

Jesus appointed seventy-two of His disciples to peacefully spread this message to others, and since God’s kingdom is a kingdom for all ages, we must do the same!

When this fabulous message reaches our hearts, it’s difficult for us to keep it from others! We find ourselves naturally, and very comfortably, sharing the peace of Jesus in our daily conversations. Sometimes when we set out to do this, the other person’s peace may rest on us instead!

This happened last week, when a dear friend of one of my friends died, leaving four young children behind. At the funeral, my friend felt compelled to share the peace of Jesus with the 11-year-old daughter who had just lost her mother, saying, “It’s okay to cry, I know how you feel because when my dad died, I felt very sad, and I miss him so much, my eyes still water almost every day.” The young girl responded by sharing her own peace with my friend, “I’m all right, and so are you, because my mom and your dad are with Jesus.”

May the peace of Jesus be with you!

– Elizabeth | email: elizabethtichvon(at)comcast(dot)net

I welcome your comments!

