Thursday, July 22, 2010

“Your right hand upholds me.” (Psalm 63:8)

 

Today’s Catholic Mass Readings:
Song of Songs 3:1-4b
or 2 Corinthians 5:14-17
Psalm 63
or Jeremiah 2:1-3, 7-8, 12-13
Psalm 36
John 20:1-2, 11-18

“You are my help, and in the shadow of Your wings I shout for joy.” (Psalm 63:7)

Like many families these days, my husband has been pressed to take an out-of-state job while I stay behind to sell our home in a challenged market. Trusting in God’s goodness, we move forward, but at times the journey can be rough.

Recently, my husband was walking from his tiny apartment to his car, when he saw what looked like a penny on the ground. Hardly recognizable as a coin, he picked it up and immediately thought of how God always finds His faithful and picks them up, especially when they feel like a used up old penny.

Today’s Psalm heartens us to cling fast to our Lord and keep calling His name, that we may receive the courage to endure and withstand our difficulties firmly.  Then, when He answers, we’ll know we’re in the shadow of His wings and like the Psalmist, will shout for joy!

Though my husband’s penny is weather-beaten, it’s not past its best. Its value has become priceless because it’s a reminder that even when we feel spent, we have Jesus constantly showing us His kindness, which is a greater good than life.
 
This week I saw a shiny new dime on the ground and picked it up and put it in my purse – not to spend, but to remind me of the wonderful plans God has in store for us.

Elizabeth A. Tichvon

 

I welcome your comments!

